FIFA World Cup Young Player Award

FIFA World Cup Finals 1958 to 2014 Best Young Player Award

The Best Young Player award was awarded for the first time at the 2006 FIFA World Cup in Germany and given to Germany’s Lukas Podolski. The award is given to the best player in the tournament who is at most 21 years old. For the 2006 FIFA World Cup, this meant that the player had to have been born on or after 1 January 1985. The election took place on FIFA’s official World Cup website with the help of The FIFA Technical Study Group. FIFA organised a survey on the Internet for users to choose the “best young player” of the World Cup, between 1958 and 2002

Year & VenuePlayerAgeNation
1958 SwedenPelé17

Brazil Football

1962 ChileFlórián Albert20

Chile Football

1966 EnglandFranz Beckenbauer20

England Football

1970 MexicoTeófilo Cubillas21

Mexico Football

1974 West GermanyWładysław Żmuda20

Germany Football

1978 ArgentinaAntonio Cabrini20

Argentina Football

1982 SpainManuel Amoros21

Spain Football

1986 MexicoEnzo Scifo20

Mexico Football

1990 ItalyRobert Prosinečki21

Italy Football

1994 United StatesMarc Overmars21


1998 FranceMichael Owen18

France Football

2002 South Korea/JapanLandon Donovan20

South Korea Football

2006 GermanyLukas Podolski21

Germany Football

2010 South AfricaThomas Müller20

South Africa Football

2014 BrazilPaul Pogba21

Brazil Football

Back To Top